SABSA Foundation

The SABSA Foundation Modules (F1 & F2) are the SABSA Institute’s official starting point for developing Security Architecture Competencies. SABSA Foundation Training is designed to create a broad-spectrum of knowledge and understanding of the SABSA method, its frameworks, concepts, models & techniques.

Theories and concepts are put to the test in ‘proof-of-concept’ style case study exercises and workshops leaving candidates with a real-world understanding of how SABSA is applied.

SABSA is the leading open-use method for delivering cohesive information security solutions to enterprises. The SABSA Framework ensures that the security needs of your organisation are met completely and are designed, delivered and supported as an integral part of your IT management infrastructure.

SABSA Foundation

SABSA Foundation Competency Development Outcomes

  1. Define enterprise security architecture, its role, objectives and benefits
  2. Describe the SABSA model, architecture matrix, service management matrix and terminology
  3. Describe SABSA principles, framework, approach and lifecycle
  4. Use business goals and objectives to engineer information security requirements
  5. Create a business attributes taxonomy
  6. Apply key architectural defence-in-depth concepts
  7. Explain security engineering principles, methods and techniques
  8. Use an architected approach to design an integrated compliance framework
  9. Describe and design appropriate policy architecture
  10. Define security architecture value proposition
  11. Use SABSA to create an holistic framework to align and integrate standards
  12. Describe roles, responsibilities, decision-making and organisational structure
  13. Explain the integration of SABSA into a service management environment
  14. Define Security Services
  15. Describe the placement of security services within ICT Infrastructure
  16. Create a SABSA Trust Model
  17. Describe and model security associations intra-domain and inter-domain
  18. Explain temporal factors in security and sequence security services
  19. Determine an appropriate start-up approach for SABSA Architecture
  20. Apply SABSA Foundation level competencies to the benefit of your organisation
Download the SABSA Foundation Course Brochure
Duration: 5 days
Exam Format: SABSA Foundation Level examinations consist of 2 modules of 48 multiple choice questions equally distributed through 6 knowledge domains
Certification: SABSA Chartered Architect – Foundation Level (SCF)
Certificate of Attendance

SABSA Foundation Dates


22jul(jul 22)8:30 am26(jul 26)4:30 pmSABSA FoundationVirtual: Europe/Africa


05aug(aug 5)9:00 am09(aug 9)5:00 pmSABSA FoundationBrisbane

12aug(aug 12)9:00 am16(aug 16)5:00 pmSABSA FoundationMelbourne


09sep(sep 9)9:00 am13(sep 13)5:00 pmSABSA FoundationLondon

09sep(sep 9)9:00 am13(sep 13)5:00 pmSABSA FoundationAmsterdam

16sep(sep 16)8:30 am20(sep 20)4:30 pmSABSA FoundationVirtual: Europe/Africa

23sep(sep 23)8:30 am27(sep 27)4:30 pmSABSA FoundationVirtual: North/South America